The Bane Of My Existence

How can something so tiny cause so much trouble?

20160526_085125.png

This is a picture of midges on my windowsill, after they’ve flown through my mesh screen.  As you can see in comparison to my finger (yes, I bite my nails), they are smaller than a fleck of ground pepper, and usually not visible at all.

This has been the worst tick season ever.  As if that wasn’t bad enough, last night began Midge Season.  Midges, otherwise known as no-see-ums (or “chiggers” in the South USA), are teeny tiny flying insects.  They are so small that they wait for nighttime, and they fly right through the mesh on one’s window screens.  You might be reading in bed when suddenly, your legs are on fire, and the itching will drive you insane.  You look around, but don’t see a thing.  They may be called “no-see-ums,” but they should be called “I-feel-ums.”  Standard bug repellent does not work against these pernicious fiends.  And you cannot swat what you cannot see.  It seems I have an extra sensitivity:  not only do they like me better than anyone in the household, but I feel the effects of a single bite for about 3 or 4 weeks afterwards.  One year they got so bad I simply had to leave, and I drove back to my hometown as fast as my car would take me.  I hope that won’t be the case this year, but it’s looking ominous.

In Maine, bug season is not for wimps.

Yep.  I’m a wimp.

 

 

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by m. f. la on May 27, 2016 at 2:57 am

    what do other (resourceful mainers) do for this? After all these years someone clever must have come up w/ a solution, no? (besides running away) ? oi, the bad w/ the good over there and there is so muchgood………..: ) mf la

    Reply

Leave a Reply

