New Sightings

(note:  I wrote this post a year ago, but somehow forgot to publish it until now.)

It’s been a busy week animal-wise. The day after a massive bull moose meandered up our driveway, I was walking along Little Pond and happened upon a mother and baby beavers swimming and playing. They were not the least concerned by my presence – – in fact once they saw me curiosity took over and they swam closer to me, peeking their heads up to get a better look at me.

Apparently that bull moose has been hanging around a lot.  My only neighbor down the road saw him on their driveway as well, and then a few days later, I ran into an awestruck deer hunter dressed in blaze orange coming out of the woods, who said the moose came within 75 feet of him.  This time of year moose are looking for love and bull moose can be aggressive and unpredictable and dangerous.  The hunter didn’t have a moose hunting permit, and he didn’t find any deer, but by spending hours in the quiet of the woods and sharpening his senses, he had an amazing encounter that certainly made his day worthwhile.

Today my husband and I were out for a walk. Suddenly, right in front of us, a beautiful, sleek mink crossed the road right in front of us. It was the very first time we have seen a mink in Maine, and to think it was only a few feet from the bottom of our driveway – – and us – –  was quite a thrill.

Not nearly as thrilling is an invasion of ladybug beetles inside our house.  They congregate in groups of twenty to fifty, usually seeking the corners of the walls near the ceilings.  They do occasionally fly around, and sometimes land in my hair.  They are not harmful but they are very annoying.

We woke to our first snowfall on Friday morning, although the snow was gone by the afternoon.  But temperatures are definitely dipping, with an expected low in the teens tonight.    The pond beneath our house is icing over.  The only noise is the wind, which sends a cutting chill right through one’s clothes.  I’m wearing layers now – – leggings under my skirt, an undershirt under my turtleneck and a fleece jacket over that.  Our wood stove brings warmth and comfort as the days get shorter and colder.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Sara Ani on February 23, 2016 at 2:48 pm

    http://www.mjff.org/2016-films/.
    In case you do not have it already, this is the list of the Maine Jewish film Festival films for this year and tickets! Sounds like fun. Wish I could go. I do plan on coming up to Maine for the exhibit on 170 years of Maine Jewish history opening 2016/2017. Recently found out I have ancestors that settled in Maine when they left Europe.
    Love your description of the animal sightings! Sara

    Reply

  2. Posted by m. f. la on March 1, 2016 at 2:23 am

    thanx for this charming description of a life I can only imagine….truly you are my magazine to Maine…..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

