Keeping Busy in Winter

Many of my friends from my hometown ask how I manage to keep busy during winter.  Lately the answer is, “shoveling and more shoveling!”  Every time it snows I have to carve paths to the wood shed, under my clotheslines, to the propane tank and generator, to the solar panels (and wipe them clean of snow), to the composter, and clear snow around the mailbox so we can get mail delivery (this is after the snow plow guy has cleared the driveway).

It may sound odd but I actually enjoy shoveling.  I love being outside in the cold, fresh air (when you dress properly for the weather you truly don’t feel the cold).  But I confess the main reason I love shoveling is because it means that my body still has the wherewithal to do it.  As long as I can shovel, I can fool myself that am not getting old.

Yesterday was actually a busy day.  I made a huge container of goat’s milk yogurt, and did all sorts of cooking and baking.  Is there anything more delicious than the smell of bread baking on a very cold day?  I try not to buy things out of season, and prefer to buy local produce, so we’re eating a lot of root vegetables.  This includes carrots, beets, rutabaga, turnips, beets, kohlrabi and potatoes, plus different kinds of cabbage.

I was really happy to hear that Jen and Justin Ward, incredible off-grid homesteaders and organic farmers from Stow, Maine, would be giving a talk about root cellars at our local library.   The Wards, who I’ve known for a couple of years, are my main suppliers for organic eggs, the product of free-range chickens.  Their eggs are not only sold the day they are gathered, so they’re incredibly fresh, the yolks are a deep marigold color and even though the size is smaller than you buy in a supermarket, they whip up so big that a 2-egg omelette looks like a 4-egg omelette from the store.  And the taste!  They are naturally buttery and really delicious.

For Jen and Justin, their farm is a family business.  They have four children ages 6 – 17 and all of them help out.  They are committed to organic-only and love growing a huge range of fruits and vegetables from heirloom seed stock.  (One of their suppliers is Fedco Seed.  Ordering their amazing, informative and entertaining seed catalog is must for any gardener.)

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by m. f. la on February 29, 2016 at 2:59 am

    you do make it all sound so easy,,,,,,,,,,,mmmm i do want to come for dinner, or at least soup! I’m sure I’ve never had an egg, still warm from its mommy……..would like to .

    Reply

Leave a Reply

