The Milkman

milkman

photo credit: Everett Collection

You know how your grandparents always used to say, “When I was a kid . . . ?”

I guess I’m getting old, because I remember when I was a kid in the 1960s, the milkman from Adohr Farms used to deliver the milk in glass bottles to our door in Encino, California (A neat little factoid:  I lived down the street from Clark Gable, who used to give out silver dollars instead of candy to Halloween trick-or-treaters.  He died when I was 3).

It turns out that old dinosaurs such as myself can do more than wax nostalgic.  According to an article in the Portland Press Herald, the milkman is back . . . in Maine!  Jimmy Pastor was a milkman in California (but not with the Adohr Farms of my youth).  He dreamed of moving from California to Maine to enjoy the slower pace of life here.  Now, at age 57, he is starting over, doing what he’s always done best:  delivering milk to happy customers in Maine.

According to the Press Herald article,

“In my heyday, I did 300 houses in a day. I ran at every stop,” he said. He carried a keyring with 100 keys, so he could put milk directly into customers’ refrigerators.

I’m sure those days are gone in places like California.  But yeah, he could definitely be carrying that keyring here in Maine.

And that’s something to moo about.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

