Night Sky

I have always wanted to see an aurora borealis (northern lights).   My husband even gets twitter alerts when an aurora is expected to appear in various locations around the world, along with a corresponding website (http://www.softservenews.com/Aurora.htm) with more detailed information.  Usually auroras happen as a result of a solar flare, of which there have been several lately;  hopes were high that they’d be southerly enough to reach Maine in addition to their usual locations like Norway and Iceland.  All week long I practiced using different settings on my camera while I tried my hand at night photography, so that I’d be ready when the big moment would come.  Alas, I’m still waiting.

Tonight it’s pretty cold:  -28F with windchill – – and it’s supposed to get much colder in the next few days.  Still, when I saw how clear it was tonight, I couldn’t resist stepping outside our house for a few moments to snap this picture of the night sky.   It wasn’t an aurora borealis, but it sure as heck was a great consolation prize.

The best things in life truly are free.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

(click to enlarge)

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Tiger Mike on January 20, 2014 at 9:29 pm

    I remember one night, maybe 20 years ago, I was flying from Seattle to anchorage. The Aurora was the most brilliant I have ever seen. It looked like we were going to fly through it for about three hours (I know, its like 300,000 feet up or something like that.) One advantage to being a pilot is the chance to see things like that.

    I’ve seen the Aurora many times. But never as bright or long as that night fromm seattle to anchorage.

    Do you have a telescope?

    Reply

    • Don’t have a telescope because my husband, who was briefly an astronomy major in college, is extremely picky about the quality of telescopes and the kind that meets his muster, we can’t afford. Did you take pictures of the auroras that you’ve seen?

      Reply

  2. Posted by fishmanformosa on January 20, 2014 at 11:33 pm

    wow thank you (I was missing your posts) : ) (-28????) I think it was abt 75 today………

    Reply

  3. Wow, that is incredible!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

