Wise Words

One of my goals for the coming year is to get rid of STUFF.  I’m not a collector of tchotchkes but I have boxes and boxes of papers and old articles I’ve written or collected, and tens of thousands of family photos.

Recently I was going through a box of photos and memorabilia that belonged to my mother (I still have some of her stuff, too).  I found a note dated Dec. 1982 written to her by a family friend, who was responding to her after she must have complained to him about the onus of taking care of her mother (my grandmother).  Oh, how I wish I could have read these words when I was taking care of my mother and mother-in-law and it applied to me!

“About your mom –  – well, she’s like an old tiger and has to remind herself that she can still roar.  Sometimes you have to look hard at a person and remember, she is doing the best she can.  She’s just trying to find her way, that’s all.  How far you go in life depends on being tender with the young, compassionate with the aged, sympathetic with the striving, and tolerant of the weak and strong.  Because someday in life, you will have been all of these.”

Leave a Reply

